First Day Of Winter

“Don’t give up on your own happy-evers.”
― Nora Roberts, Genuine Lies

First day of winter today and just a few days til Christmas. We’ve already had several days of snow and cold weather…definitely know that winter is here!
I’ve done things differently this year…decorating has been minimal, gift buying has been minimal as well. I didn’t do my usual Christmas cards to everyone…just wrote long letters to those family/friends far away, everyone else will get emails I guess. Baked one batch of chocolate chip cookies to send to my daughter cause she won’t be home with me this Christmas. Gave the dog a bath today and a clean blanket in his bed.
Getting a different perspective on Christmas this year…when I think about it, for years I’ve heard several varieties of Christmas from my friends…the Christmases where they knock themselves out to have the “perfect” Christmas, overspend, and can’t understand why once again they aren’t happy. Or, the Christmases where the family members have animosities and fights. Or, the Christmases where they basically hide themselves in their houses with enough food, alcohol and entertainment and come out when it is all over… I might be more of the third type this year…
Made some paper roses this afternoon…it never ceases to amaze me how the different paper can totally change the look of the roses…the thinner the paper, the more realistic they are. Used a candy cane to put the music rose on top of and added a vintage ornament.

Candy Cane rose

Candy Cane rose


Since I use a lot of books making flowers, I use the book covers as well…made a small ornament out of a Rudolph the Red Nosed Reindeer book…tracing a star onto the cover and then edging it with metal tape. Looks cute, doesn’t it!
Rudolph the Red Nosed Reindeer ornament

Rudolph the Red Nosed Reindeer ornament


It never matters how miserable I can be some days, if I can spend some time of the day crafting, my mood totally swings to a happier mode!
Until next time…Eva

One thought on “First Day Of Winter

  1. Your “Christmas Rose” is very festive and in tune with the season. I’ve basically opted out of the expected stuff for the holidays as well, and feel much less stressed and open to appreciating all the small blessings as a result. Made or gave a few spontaneous gifts to folks in need who have crossed my path lately. Have also given myself some therapeutic bits of time to experiment with crafts I’ve been wanting to try, such as kumihimo with beads. Imagine most of us would enjoy the holy days more if we took time out to play, made a Rudolph the Red Nosed Reindeer ornament or two, baked and inhaled a batch of cookies or a pot of soup, and did more hibernating and introspecting for solstice to balance out all the pressures and excesses which seem to have become the new traditions.

Leave a Reply

