Holidays

What exactly do you remember about the holidays in your childhood? I was a Baker’s Kid…we lived on top of the bakery and I look back at it now and realize how special it all really was. The bakery was a family venture…my Dad was a Master Baker from Denmark and he and my mother(and older brother) came over and started the bakery. Dad did the baking and Mom took charge of the store as well as help Dad out. We kids also had our chores/jobs to do and they become more involved the older one got…I do believe the worst job for us(and my brother agrees whole heartedly!) was grating fresh coconut for all of the Easter baked goods…we always ended up with scraped knuckles!
When you live in a bakery, the holidays revolve around baked goods…Christmas time for us meant lots and lots of Christmas cookies. Toll House cookies, Sand-Tarts, Michigan Rocks, Vanilla cookies with candied cherries in the center, Gingerbread Men, Coconut Macaroons. There would be large tins filled with cookies.
Along with the cookies would be Holiday Bread(Scandinavian bread made from a sweet yeast dough filled with candied fruits, nuts, raisins)…this is still my favorite baked good for Christmas…if I have that for Christmas, I don’t ask for anything else. Dad made large Danish Pastry Christmas trees filled with almond paste and decorated with icing and glazed fruits and nuts. Gingerbread men and Gingerbread houses. Petit Fours.
The special Christmas baked goods were the extras on top of his normal baking…bread, doughnuts, sweet rolls, pies,(my Dad’s shoo fly pies were the absolute best…my brother and I still search for shoo fly pie that tasted like the one my Dad made…we haven’t found it), bread rolls, sticky buns, cream puffs and eclairs, Danish Pastry, Cake, Muffins…trust me, I am getting hungry reminiscing about the baked goods…when my brother and I would come home from school, we would be allowed to pick something for our after school snack. My brother’s absolute favorite was sticky buns with pecans. Lots of times there wouldn’t be any left, but if there was, he was in heaven! I usually went for a cupcake(my favorites were when my Dad made the Butterfly cupcakes.)
That was Christmas for us. We celebrated Christmas Eve with the Danish packages from my grandmothers and Christmas Day were the American presents.
What I remember the most about being a Baker’s Kid is if I woke up during the night and couldn’t sleep, I could go down the stairs to the bakery where it was full of light, warmth, and my Dad always glad to see me. The radio would be blaring Country music and I would sit on the side and watch my Dad work, sometimes being given some dough to work with. Eventually I would fall asleep again and my Dad would carry me back up to my bed.
The other thing I remember about being a Baker’s Kid is that my parents always seemed to be working and they worked hard. But they were always there for me.
What do you remember about your childhood Christmas? Enjoy the memories.
til next time…Eva

The Bakery

The Bakery

7 thoughts on “Holidays

  1. Sounds like classic holiday heaven, but no wonder the gluten issues surfaced later! We moved too much to have any real traditions, but I do remember all the monster poinsettia bushes in Hawaii — some 8′ tall — when I’d never seen anything larger than one in a small pot. In Santa Fe, it was more about snow, red and green (so-called “Christmas”) chile, and the scent of pinon pines. I still like to break out the pinon incense this time of year to take me back to the Sangre de Cristos.

    • You are definitely right on that point! My life revolved around baked goods! Pinon pine incense…hmmm, think I need to get some! You have some amazing Christmas memories as well…maybe get to hear some sometime?

  2. Hi, Eva. Love, love your new blog! This post made me hungry, first of all. 🙂 I can smell your parents’ bakery as I’m reading. I’ll link your post to mine that had pics of the bakery….

    My fave quote: “What I remember the most about being a Baker’s Kid is if I woke up during the night and couldn’t sleep, I could go down the stairs to the bakery where it was full of light, warmth, and my Dad always glad to see me. The radio would be blaring Country music and I would sit on the side and watch my Dad work, sometimes being given some dough to work with. Eventually I would fall asleep again and my Dad would carry me back up to my bed.”

    So sweet. Thanks for sharing & Merry Christmas! Love, Ruth

  3. Pingback: On burnout, bangs, baking, blogs & books….. | The Soulful Pet

Leave a Reply

