CRUSTS!

CRUSTS!

This topic of CRUSTS came completely unexpected today. I was on Facebook and a friend of mine was commenting how she never eats the first piece of bread cause she doesn’t like the crusts…and a few years ago, my niece had baked a large pan of brownies and cut a 1/2 inch strip all around the pan to make the brownies “perfect”. She proceeded to take the strips off and was going to throw them out…my brother(her father) and I both said at the same time, “What are you doing!!!!” “Throwing out the crusts, no one wants them…” My brother and I looked at each other and he said to her, ‘give them to me.” He then divided them up, half for him, and half for me…and we two sat there munching away happily on our crusts…

Well, let me tell you about being a baker’s kid…

When my brother and I were growing up in the bakery, one big thing you learned early was that you never had any of the “perfect” stuff cause that was where the profits were…when my dad would make the large pans of brownies, he would cut that 1/2 inch strip all along the pan and then cut the squares. The squares would be what went out to the bakery…the strips were “OURS”!!! Coming home from school, if we were lucky, there would be the plate of brownie crusts in the back…
The misfits…I remember once when my dad was making toll house cookies…he had put the cookie dough onto about 6 baking trays at that point…realized with the first two trays in the oven that he had forgotten the baking soda…and scraped the rest of the dough back into the mixer and added baking soda… well, I am telling you, those had to be the best “cookies” ever…very crispy and very buttery…they completely thinned out with chocolate lumps….
Bread…for us, the crustier the better. My dad used to make incredible hard rolls…(I’m getting hungry thinking of them…” Every morning for her breakfast, my mother would have a roll…I can still see her in my mind’s eye…picking her roll, smelling it and blessing it with a kiss before buttering it and eating it with her coffee.
Crusts…give them a try…you will find, they are the best part!
til next time…Eva

2 thoughts on “CRUSTS!

  1. Sounds like a cozy little house party in progress. Hoped you weren’t snowed in with no power.

    We’re looking at 1 degree tomorrow night. Wondering if semester is going to start off with a snow day!

    Jennifer East SouthWest By East Date: Sun, 5 Jan 2014 21:56:35 +0000 To: swxe@hotmail.com

  2. all ok here…very cold though. Stayed inside…made daughter brownies..that’s what started this post.
    Not good for semester to start with a snowday!

Leave a Reply

