Trying Chia Seeds

chia 001

I was having lunch at a friend’s house a week ago and I had asked her if she had tried Chia Seeds in her diet yet cause I had heard some good benefits to it. “Oh yes, I have a whole container of it…tried it once and it grossed me out. You can have some if you want to try it…” Before I left, she gave me the whole container of it..”I thought I was only taking a little home to try it?” “I’m not going to use it and none of the family will touch it…so it’s all yours and enjoy!”

I took the container home and then began to do my research. I well remember the Chia Pets that were popular years ago with their green hair made from the chia seeds…I never knew they were edible as well…And this is what I have found out…

a. Chia seeds come from a flowering plant in the mint family that is native to Mexico and Guatemala. History
suggests that it was an important food crop for the Aztecs and was used by warriors and athletes.

b. It has the ability to absorb more than 9 times its weight in water.

c. Chia has a high oil content for the essential Omega-3 fatty acid. These oils are the essential oils your
body needs to help emulsify and absorb the fat soluble vitamins of A, D, E and K.

d. They have been reported to lower blood pressure. In people who already have low blood pressure, make sure
it doesn’t drop too low.

e. Since they contain Omega-3 which can thin the blood, if you are taking blood thinners, planning surgery,
or on an aspirin regimen, consult a dr before use.

f. Has a 25% fiber content.

g. People who are allergic to sesame or mustard see could be allergic to Chia.

h. Anecdotal evidence of positive health effects include boosting energy, stabilizing blood sugar, aiding
digestion and lowering cholesterol.

Apparently you can add the chia to many different foods but you need to make it into the gel first(in reality, my first thought when I saw the gel was it reminded me of when we used to look for tadpoles when I was a kid).

” Making Chia Gel(9-1 ratio)

Put water in a sealable plastic container and slowly pour seed into water while briskly mixing with a wire whisk. Wait a couple of minutes, whisk again and let stand for 5-10 minutes. Whisk again before using or storing in the refrigerator. It will keep up to 2 weeks.
You can then add this mix to almost anything…jams, jellies, hot or cold cereals, yoghurts, mustard, catsup, tartar sauce, bread mix, etc.
Add the gel, between 50-75%, mix well and taste. You will notice a smooth texture with the flavor intact(it doesn’t have a flavor at all). You’ve now added 50 to 75% more volume to the food used and displaced calories and fat.” from living-foods.com

I haven’t done that yet but I have made myself a “pudding” that I made in a small mason jar…I use 1 cup of milk, 3/16 cup of chia seeds, 1 teaspoon of vanilla and you can put in sweetener if you desire(I haven’t been cause I am trying to lower my sugar content). Make sure you stir it often in the beginning and it will eventually look like the picture above(it reminds me of tapioca). I eat it at night and it seems to be keeping my binge eating at bay…and I am not craving my past chips, cookies, etc.

My next step will be to make the mixture and mix with jam and other condiments…

til next time…Eva

chia 002a

I got information about the Chia Seeds from : livestrong.com, The Huffington Post, Canada, and living-foods.com

2 thoughts on “Trying Chia Seeds

  1. I’ve been putting some of the whole seeds directly into the NutriBullet blender when I make my fruits & greens smoothies — they break down into the coconut milk along with the frozen berries and do not change the texture noticeably. Using SweetLeaf stevia if I need to add anything for sweetness besides the fruit — keeps me going until mid-afternoon at the college. Have not tried sprouting, but they’re supposed to be good as “micro-greens” also.

  2. I was not even thinking of the ease of putting it in smoothies…thanks Jennifer! How much do you put in? A tablespoon perhaps?

Leave a Reply

