Wake Up Call

“Don’t die with your music still inside you.
Listen to your intuitive inner voice and find what passion stirs your soul.
Listen to that inner voice and don’t get to the end of your life and say, “What if my whole life has been
wrong?”
Dr. Wayne W. Dyer

I bumped into a former classmate of mine this week. He works for a local extermination company and happened to be at the same house I was working at – spraying all of the areas of the house, inside and out, for spiders, ants and other bugs. He has been doing this for over 30 years.

He’s a very talented artist…working large scale, very intricate and detailed, basically in watercolor. Has won numerous awards and has a website now to sell prints of his work. It is what he has incredible talent and love to do, lives to do…yet he is spending 40+ hours a week spraying insecticides.

I know his story because he married a childhood friend of mine. He had gotten a full scholarship to Art School and just finished his Sophomore year in college. She’d just graduated from HS and had a scholarship for business college that fall. Then she found out she was pregnant. Back then, the young people were expected to get married. Both families were heartbroken. Unfortunately, that usually meant that the two young people didn’t get to pursue their dreams. He never got back to art school. She never got to the business college.

After their child was born and in school, she took some business courses at night, he stayed in the exterminating business. Just when she was starting to get the jobs she had trained for and life looked to become easier, she became chronically ill and couldn’t work at all. He was forced to stay at his job for the sake of the health insurance.

He told me he doesn’t have a lot of time for his painting but “even if its just 15 minutes a day, it’s what is keeping me going. When I retire, I’m going to paint as much as I can for as long as I can.”
I hope you will, my friend. Keep your dream alive.

This interaction made me realize what life’s spark are we not fanning into a full fire of passion? What talent are we not pursuing because of lack of: Money, Time, Energy, Family Obligations, Caregiving, Family Expectations?
What of your life’s dreams/pleasures have you been putting on the back burner? Is it a book you’ve meant to write? Music? Travel? Teaching? College degree? Making your hobby into a business? Volunteer work? Spiritual?

I don’t know about you, but I don’t relish the thought of after I pass on, that people say, “Isn’t it a shame…she was so good at _______ but never reached her potential/never got to do it.”

Don’t die with your music still in you.

til next time…Eva

Leave a Reply

