I Scream for Ice Cream!

   Two weeks ago I was really restless…I had to stop at the local pharmacy on a Sunday morning to pick up meds for my husband’s back and stopped at the grocery store next door…picked up a half gallon(well, truthfully, it’s only 1 1/2 quarts) of mint chocolate chip ice cream.

   I had a small bowl full when I came home and sat outside to enjoy the sunshine.  By 24 hours, that ice cream was completely gone(by the time there was 1/3 left, I didn’t even get a bowl anymore…it was “oh what the heck” and just got the spoon). 

   To my husband, the only flavor of ice cream in Vanilla.  Not French vanilla or any of the fancy vanillas…just ordinary vanilla.  (Do you know how embarrassing it is to go to an ice cream store for a cone/dish and have him look over all of the offered flavors and then say “Vanilla”?!  The clerk then looks at me with complete exasperation which then causes me to choose one of the outlandish flavors just to save face!”)

   Tuesday after dinner, my husband went for a bowl of his ice cream(a small bowl…a half gallon of ice cream lasts 2 or more weeks for him) and says, “there was another container of ice cream in here.”  “Yes.”  “It’s not there anymore.”  “No, it’s not there anymore…I ate it.”  “But it was only there for 2 days.”  “No, it was only there for 1 day.”  He looked at me askance. He has no clue about eating ice cream…

   I realized I had to so something about my ice cream “habit”, had seen about a frozen banana concoction being blended making an ice cream of sorts and began making one for myself every day while making dinner and putting it in the freezer.  It helps a lot and I do less damage calorie wise.  It’s one of those recipes that can be tweaked a bit and always tastes good.

   Frozen Chocolate-Banana “Ice Cream”

1 large frozen banana(or two small ones) note:  let the banana soften a little first before blending

I apple(cored and chopped)

2 heaping teaspoons of cocoa

1 Tablespoon of flaxmeal or hemp protein or chia seeds

Milk to thin(whatever type of milk you use is ok)

Optional: honey, sweetener of choice, stir ins such as nuts, coconut, peanut butter, coconut, etc.

A Blender or a Food Processor

 

  Blend all of the ingredients except your optional stir ins.  I don’t use any sweetener in mine but you might like to have a teaspoon or so of honey or other sweetener.  Add enough milk to thin it a bit(remember that the flaxmeal or other fiber is going to thicken it a bit).  When it is acceptable, place in a container and put in the freezer.  It also can be eaten right away.  This makes two nice servings…unless you are having a difficult day…then it makes one!

Experiment and let me know what you come up with!

til next time…Eva

2 thoughts on “I Scream for Ice Cream!

  1. Sounds pretty good, and I happen to have a couple of bananas and a bag of organic apples due to be used. When I make the smoothie version, it seems to me the banana overpowers the chocolate for my taste, but I never measure the amounts and have not tried with flax, hemp, or chia, much less apple, so maybe that combo balances things out. Will probably try with and without stevia, and I do like to add cinnamon for “Mexican” chocolate flavor and blood sugar balance ~~~ thanks!

  2. The apple does tend to tone it all down…let me know how it goes! I’ve done the cinnamon too and it does taste good! Adding vanilla or other flavors could be a change as well. One day I used the banana and some cut up mango and had a Hawaiian influence…no chocolate that day.

Leave a Reply

