Looking for Giggles

   I have noticed lately that I have a real need for the giggles…or finding something funny in my daily life.  It started with my “feeling groovy” shoes a couple of weeks ago.  Last week I went to a local auction house with a friend of mine.  She had a few items to take up there and on the way out, there are several shelves with items that hadn’t sold in the last auction…box lots that were $3 each.  My friend bought a few of them and I spied a “free” set of shelves.  In one of these shelves was a box with a free plastic cuckoo clock…made in China, battery operated(AA for the clock itself and AAA for the cuckoo).  I started laughing.  My friend looked at me and said, “what are you laughing at?”  “This cuckoo clock.”  “Wow, that’s pretty bad.”  “Bad?  No, I am taking it home.”   I got all of the pieces together and quite pleased with my find.  “What is your husband going to say when he sees that?”  “Oh, I am really looking forward to the look on his face when I hang it up on the wall…”  And we both dissolved laughing. 

   When I put in the AA battery, to my great delight, it actually worked plus gives accurate time as well.  Mr. Cuckoo isn’t yet working cause I don’t have a AAA battery yet.  Hubby still can’t figure out why it’s on the living room wall but after 24 years with me, he is learning…

   And it goes on and on…the other day I answered the phone while I was making dinner…”Congratulations!  It’s your lucky day!  You have been approved for burial insurance!!!!”  I hung up the phone and started laughing hysterically.  The next day, something came in the mail for the same thing…I burst out laughing once again. 

   Every day I seem to search for the “giggles”…that funny part of the day that gives me my laugh of the day…you will find it if you look.  On Youtube I found a Laurel and Hardy clip of infectious laughter…or a silly little dance.  My sister in law’s mother was an incredible lady in my life and I can still see her in my mind’s eye sitting with her arms folded around her and laughing…so infectiously that you couldn’t not laugh.  The tears would come down your face and everyone would be laughing. 

”   I love to laugh
Loud and long and clear
I love to laugh
It’s getting worse ev’ry year

The more I laugh
The more I fill with glee
And the more the glee
The more I’m a merrier me
It’s embarrassing!
The more I’m a merrier me”

     from Mary Poppins

 

    Wishing you “the Giggles!”

   til next time, Eva

   Image

Leave a Reply

