What is your Coping Mechanism?

What is your Coping Mechanism? What do you do instinctively when you are having a very stressful period in your life?

When I was younger and I was overly stressed, I would reach for something fattening to eat…maybe a box of Tastykakes, cookies, chips, or ice cream. Since giving up sugar this year, all of the above items aren’t a possibility plus I don’t want to gain any weight…so, I recently noticed that I do cleaning.

This past week I had to put my 14 year old dog Benji to sleep. I got home and went down on my hands and knees and scrubbed every linoleum floor in the house. Two hours later after crying my eyes out and scrubbing the floors, I was completely spent and could once again function. A week ago I had gotten disturbing news and spent the afternoon de-cluttering.

I was telling my girlfriend about this latest cleaning coping mechanism and her response was, “I wish that were mine…I eat like crazy.” When I came home and got the bucket out, my husband looked at me and asked, “what are you doing with that?” “Washing the floors.” “now?” “yes, now”. “why?” “because I have to do something. I have to get the pain out.”

What do you do when you need to cope? To get past the emotional pain? I know people who go for a long walk or run until they are exhausted; get a stiff drink; eat; go to bed; go for a long drive; cook a storm; go out in the garden and pull weeds; play the piano; put the music on; etc.

Any others of you who clean? I will say one thing about the cleaning part…there is a sense of satisfaction in the end when you realize that your pain was productive in a way. No marathon cleaning sessions for me any time soon, I hope…

til next time…Eva

2 thoughts on “What is your Coping Mechanism?

  1. I’m so sorry to hear about your dog. I know that pain, so can relate.

    But what a wonderful, positive way to deal with stress. Cleaning. I’m going to try it. Next time I’m suffering with stress of any sort, and for any reason, I’m going to try and turn it into a more positive way of dealing with the stress, and I’ll clean.

    Great Blog! Some thoroughly good reads here. Congratulations. ~ Cobs.

    • Thank you Cobs…the more physical the cleaning the better…and you feel that you have accomplished something with your stress/grief, etc. Glad my blog resonates with you! Eva

Leave a Reply

