Making Chocolate Candy from Scratch

From Scratch…meaning from the beginning or starting point…

A while ago I decided to give up eating anything with sugar, any artificial sweeteners, anything with corn syrup, etc.  Have only been using honey as my method of sweetening or nothing at all…   That being said, a lot of my former favorite foods disappeared from my horizon…and some were dearly missed, believe me.

When you give up a particular food in your diet, you go through several phases…and this can take a while…a long while.  At first you look for substitutes and after a while you realize that most of the substitutes aren’t very satisfying(when you give up meat and use those meat substitutes; when you give up wheat and use the various gluten free substitutes…)they are all pretending to be something they aren’t.

Your next step(if you get that far) is the realization that you don’t want to deal with pretend food anymore…you want “real food”…whatever that means.  At this point you start looking at all the food you are eating and begin to filter out the foods that are not doing you justice.  For example…what is the use of eating a tasteless “fake” food when you can eat real fruit, real vegetables, real whatever it may be…

That is where I got with Chocolate…I was craving candy but not the candy I used to eat…my taste buds have changed and besides, the ingredients in most of the items were not acceptable for me anymore.  Searching, I finally found a simple recipe online that met all my requirements as well as being inexpensive and easy to make. Found the recipe here: http://www.naturalhealthstrategies.com/how-to-make-chocolate.html

001a

Easy Chocolate:

5 Tablespoons of Coconut Oil

5 Tablespoons of Cocoa

pinch of salt

1/2 teaspoon of Vanilla

Sweetening of choice( I used honey)(1-2 tablespoons) (I used 2 tablespoons this time…will cut it to 1 next time)

You can also add coconut, nuts, fruits, etc. of choice.( I put some cinnamon in it)

Melt the coconut oil if not liquid at the time.  Stir in the cocoa, add the sweetening of choice, salt and vanilla.  Stir well.

It makes about a 3 by 6 inch amount of chocolate so you will need to pour it in a small mold or tray.  I put some coconut oil on the bottom but it stayed stuck until I heated the bottom of the tray after it was solid.  I read somewhere to put a small piece of parchment paper on it to prevent sticking.

After it is in the pan, place it in the refrigerator until partly solid…you can then score it with a knife so that you can break it up after it is completely solid.

Note: for some reason, the honey drifted down to the bottom of my tray…so the bottom of my chocolate was sticky…I then sprinkled some coconut on it.

That is all there is to it…keep it in the refrigerator…

Gave hubby a piece…”this is really good.  Now I know what you are going to make for Christmas gifts this year…by the way, where are you keeping this?”  And this is from a man who isn’t much into sweets!

Several nice points about this chocolate…it literally melts in your mouth.  Has a great chocolaty flavor that you can change to suit your taste…by the amount of sweetening you use, by the extras you add(coconut, raisins, cranberries, orange peel, cinnamon, nuts, ).  It’s so easy and fast to make and a great project for kids as well.  It’s not expensive…if you have the basics of the coconut oil, cocoa, vanilla and sweetening…you’re able at any time to make the chocolate for yourself or for a quick present for someone…

I am thinking about buying a mold to make the pieces uniform for when its for a gift…

Give it a try…you will be pleasantly surprised!

til next time…Eva

 

 

Leave a Reply

