Being a Snob….

   I was taking a walk earlier and passed two young teenagers who were giggling like crazy and one then said, “You are such a snob!”  “Am not”  “Are so!”…and it got me thinking about how we are all snobs in our own ways. I know in most cases if someone told you or me that we were snobs, we probably would be insulted…so  I  decided to look the word “Snob” up in the dictionary and the following appeared:(http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/snob)

1 .a person who imitates, cultivates, or slavishly admires social superiors and is condescending or overbearing to others.
2. a person who believes himself or herself an expert or connoisseur in a given field and is condescending toward or disdainful of those who hold other opinions or have different tastes regarding this field:

a musical snob.
Origin:
1775-1785

1775-85; orig. uncert; first used as a nickname for a cobbler or cobbler’s apprentice, hence a townsman, someone of low class or lacking good breeding, commoner, hence someone who imitates persons of higher rank”

 
  Ah, number two…”a person who believes himself or herself an expert or connoisseur in a given field and is condescending toward or disdainful of those who hold other opinions or have different tastes regarding this field”…I don’t think there is a person alive who hasen’t been a snob with this definition…to give examples…
 
1. How about when you’ve lost weight, all of the sudden you feel really kind of self righteous when you are looking at what
    other people are eating or if someone is heavier than you are at the moment.
 
2. When you are at the grocery store and you have been diligent in picking all the “right” kinds of foods for you and your
    family…and you see the people in front of you have all junk food in their cart…
 
3. My husband is a music snob…he has his degree in classical music(pianist) and when he hears my country/western or
    easy listening music I can almost hear his snobbishness!
 
4. The reading material snobs…they read only the classics…or they only read romances…or they only read horror…etc.
 
5. The movie snobs…doesn’t matter what genre…
 
6. Wine connoisseurs…or cheese….or chocolate 🙂
 
7. The diehard dog lovers or diehard cat lovers…or specific breeds…
 
8. Car connoisseurs…old or new.
 
9. Art snobs…
 
10. Food snob…as well as coffee, tea, etc.(my girlfriend’s husband is a coffee snob…it has to be freshly ground and drink it in his special cup.)
 
   I am sure you have noticed that your pets can be little snobs as well…my cats are snobs for their specific cat litter and cat food…if they don’t get it I will be sure to have some nasty surprises!  My little bird is snobbish for the setup of her cage and her birdseed…as well as the temperature of her water…
   
   So, what kind of “snob” are you?   I did some thinking on this subject…for one, I am a baked goods snob…from being a baker’s kid, I am very particular with baked goods…I like them fresh(my husband has an atrocious habit of never eating baked goods when they are fresh…if I buy something in the baked good line, I make a point of eating it right away or freezing it.  He will put it away and eat something that is already stale and keep the other item til that gets stale too…drives me insane!)
   I am also a crafting snob…I am particular about my crafting supplies and types of crafting I do.
 
   I think being a “snob” of sorts is very human…
 
   til next time…Eva  

  

Leave a Reply

