Dry Spell

   I don’t know what it was about this summer, but I just didn’t seem to be able to come up with any new and fresh ideas for my paper and fabric flowers for my shop.  Everything felt like the “same old, same old” and I desperately needed to change my vision.

   I was listening to a webinar last night by Jaime Tardy entitled, “Learn the 3 Secrets Every Millionaire  Uses to Unlock Rapid Growth”.  Basically the three secrets are all things we already know but don’t follow… http://eventualmillionaire.com/blog/

   1. Opportunities vs. Distractions…basically you need to have goals in place in order to determine whether the path you are presently on is an opportunity or distraction.   Millionaires know their priorities while the rest of us are spinning our wheels.  We need to have Extreme Focus in order to accomplish our goals.   Jaime mentioned an interesting comment by Michael Port which more or less stated that you need to stick to one path.  If you keep changing paths, you are a dabbler.  Take one thing and focus on it…if you hit a barrier, break down the barrier and keep on moving.

   Another comment was to choose one focus in your business…if you are doing less than a million dollars in business, you should only have one item, one service or product so that you can become a master.  Master the one you are doing.

    I have been listening to many webinars and reading many books which basically say the same thing but what is interesting is that I probably now was truly ready for this piece of information.  I have tended to jump all over the place…if one thing doesn’t work, I stop and try something else.  So, I’ve technically been a dabbler…

   2. Making goals…most of what we call goals are really “directions”.  We all know what the short term and long term goals are…we are also suggested to establish mini goals and micro goals.  The big goals happen only through the mini and micro goals…and you are suggested to create one 30 day goal and your daily goal.

   3. Having Support and Community.  She stated the comment that we are a sum of the 5 people we hang around with.  So many of us are lonely in our businesses so we need to be in contact with others who have the same goals and this can be done in four different support techniques(Community, Mastermind Group,  Coach and Board of Mentors).

   Then lastly she told us to look at what the last 3 months of our business looked like and to ask ourselves, what if the next 3 months is like the last 3 months…do you want it to be that way or do you want your business to be vastly improved? 

   Great webinar and engaging instructor.  She has  a blog where she interviews Millionaires and has also written a book entitled, “The Eventual Millionaire”.

 

   For the last two days I have been writing down 10 ideas a day for my business.  Ways that I could change my flowers, come up with the different trends and different bouquet styles.  This comes from James Altucher’s blog (http://www.jamesaltucher.com )   All you do is every day sit quietly and make a list of 10 ideas.  I am doing it for my business but you can basically do it for anything.  The goal is to develop your mind muscle.  I will say, for such a simple idea, it really gets your mind moving.  I was able to get to number 5 and then it took some doing to get the remainder…today it was just as difficult but the neat thing was that I actually came up with one or two viable ideas that I haden’t thought about before.  I will definitely be continuing on with this concept. I suggest you give this a try if you have been stuck in any areas of your life.  You may be pleasantly surprised.

   So, thanks to two free resources, I do believe my dry spell will soon be over. 🙂

   til next time…Eva

 

One thought on “Dry Spell

  1. What an inspired idea. Thank you so much for sharing this Eva, I think I might give this a go and see if it could be the thing I need to do in order to end this continual stop/go and on/off of my own ‘mojo’.
    Sending love and (flower themed ‘making’ vibes) ~ Cobs.x

Leave a Reply

