Plum or Apple Kuchen…Time for Cake!

002020                                    All summer long it’s been way too hot to even think of putting the oven on to bake anything(my sister in law always tells my brother that the oven is off from Memorial Day to Labor Day…and she means it!)

I had gotten some really nice prune plums at the green grocer last week and decided to try and make the Plum Cake(Zwetchgenkuchen) that Frau Lampe used to make.  When I was finished my freshman year at college, I spent the summer in Marburg/Lahn in Germany for a summer and went to the Sprachenschule there to improve my German.  I stayed with a family and she used to make amazing desserts…this being one of them.   I tried it again last night using some apples I had gotten yesterday and that was delicious as well.  They are not sweet and are good for anytime of the day.  My husband likes to put a dollop of yoghurt on his, I like mine heated a little in the microwave and eat mine plain.

Frau Lampe’s Zwetchgenkuchen(Plum Cake) or Apple Cake

Preheat oven to 350 degrees

Ingredients:

1 1/4 cups flour(note: I used whole wheat for the plums, white for the apple) You can also use gluten free flour.

1 t baking powder

1/4 t salt

1 stick margarine or butter, softened

Sugar…the original recipe calls for 3/4 cup sugar…I use 1/4.

1 Egg and 2 T yoghurt(the original recipe uses 2 eggs only)

1 T lemon juice and 1 t lemon peel

1 t vanilla( you could use almond flavoring instead)

1-2 Tablespoons of milk…if needed

Topping(2 T of sugar and 1 t of cinnamon mixed)

Plums(if you are using prune plums, just pit them and cut them in half)  Apples(2 apples cored, peeled and sliced)

a. Mix the sugar and butter/margarine until well mixed.  Add the egg(s) and yoghurt(if only using one egg), mix well.  Add the lemon juice and peel.  Add the vanilla.

b. In another bowl, mix the flour of preference with the salt and the baking powder.

c. Mix the two together and stir well…if it is too thick(you want a thick batter but so thick that you can’t smooth it out…I usually need 1-2 T of milk. It has to be thick enough that the fruit doesn’t fall through.

d.  Pour into an 9 inch in diameter pan.  Grease well.

e. Taking the fruit, start in the center and arrange in a spiral.

f. Sprinkle the top with the cinnamon sugar mixture and place in the oven for 30 minutes or until an inserted knife comes out clean.

Let it cool a bit…I like mine warm, hubby likes his cold cause he says he tastes the lemon more when it’s cold.

This recipe can be used with other fruits as well…I have some peaches I have to try it with next…let me know if you try it.  Today in my part of the world it’s rainy and chilly…perfect day to put something in the oven!

Enjoy!

til next time…Eva

c.

Leave a Reply

