A Case of Giggles

014aZowie…photo taken by Eva

 

“I love to laugh
Loud and long and clear
I love to laugh
It’s getting worse ev’ry year
The more I laugh
The more I fill with glee
And the more the glee
The more I’m a merrier me”
(Mary Poppins song…I Love to Laugh}
   Remember the scene in Mary Poppins when they are visiting Bert’s Uncle Albert…who is floating up in the ceiling because of his laughter?  Eventually Bert and the children are up there too, laughing.  Mary Poppins is the only one still standing and still serious.
  I guess I could say that I take myself and life too seriously most times.  It’s not that I truly want to be that way and it’s not that I am negative per se.  I guess you could say I’m the serious/”sensible” type…where deep inside is that inner child who loved to laugh and have fun/do fun things.
   I read recently  that young children laugh/smile up to 300 times a day..wow.  I realize it’s all a matter of what we look at and whether we are open to it.  For the last couple of days, my horoscopes and other readings have pointed towards looking/noticing the joyful side of life.
   Today it started off with the giggles.  I’ve been sleeping in the basement on my Mom’s old sofa because it’s been too hot to sleep upstairs. On the small table in front of the sofa, I’ve had Zowie in her birdcage and she has it partially covered with a light cloth at night.
   I woke up this morning to find her on her bottom perch staring at me.  When she realized I was awake, she got all excited, flapped her wings and started peeping.  Giggle #1.
   I had work this morning and had arranged to meet at a friend’s house for lunch.  I told her about a sewing challenge I was doing for September – you are required to sew 5 items of clothing from the same pattern.  Since I haven’t sewn clothing in a while, it had to be something simple…so I decided on using my fabric stash for pajama pants.  She got a gleam in her eyes and left…bringing back a pair of her too-short pajama pants.  “Could you make me a pair…or two?”   Giggle #2.
   Got home and waited for my daughter’s daily phone call on her way from work.  She told me first that her boyfriend’s best friend broke up with his girlfriend…once again(this is the third time).  I commented that, yes, that was sad.  “Mom, you don’t understand.  That “Girl’s Weekend” I am going on this weekend…well, she’s riding in the same car I am.  Also, the concert we are going to, I have no clue who this band is.  And third, the birthday girl is the same age as I am but the other three women are all 47. It’s going to be a disaster!”  Giggle # 3   (“Mom, why are you laughing?  It is NOT funny!”  “It is from where I am sitting.”
   I was ready to take the garbage out after dinner.  I noticed that the neighbor’s dog “Barkley” was in my yard by the birdbath…barking at me, looking at his yard and then looking at me and barking once again.  I was confused for a minute and then it dawned on me that they have an electric fence and he didn’t want to cross it alone.  (self punishment is so over rated).  I got Benji’s old leash and Barkley eagerly went along with me over the fence…well, actually he pulled me over.  Giggle #4.
   4 Giggles in one day…so far.  And you know, it really felt good.  I do love to laugh and feel my eyes crinkle up and my mouth move to a grin.
   Lets hope it continues 🙂
   til next time…Eva
Leave a Reply

